What does a blue check mark mean on twitter?

The blue check mark previously indicated Twitter had confirmed an account belonged to the person or organization claiming it. Now that icon can also mean an account has paid for the Twitter Blue subscription service. It doesn’t need to meet the same requirements and Twitter does not review it.