How do they bleach flour?

Flour bleaching agents are added directly to the freshly-milled flour. Powder bleaching agents such as benzoyl peroxide are mixed directly with the flour. Whitening is often completed in two days.

---

The flour bleaching process commonly employs benzoyl peroxide and chlorine gas, among others to speed up the aging process. A much longer bleaching process would be to expose the flour to ultraviolet light, such as sunlight.