Was there a war in eighteen twelve?

Yes. The Americans were fighting the war of 1812 with Great Britain, Great Britain was fighting the French in Spain, and Napoleon was invading Russia. The War of 1812 ended with an American victory in 1814. Napoleon's incursion into Russia ended in disaster. He was defeated by the Russian winter.