Does turkey make you tired?

Yes, Turkey allegedly causes drowsiness because it is packed with a nutrient called tryptophan. Tryptophan is one of 20 naturally occurring amino acids—the building blocks of proteins.

---

Although turkey does contain tryptophan, which does have sedative properties, it is a common misconception that turkey makes people tired.

---

It's a myth that turkey makes you sleepy. What makes you sleepy is the full stomach and the amount of food people eat at one sitting. Blood flow diverts to the stomach and intestines when you eat a lot--making your brain less alert. I can happen with any large amount of food.

---

Turkey allegedly causes drowsiness because it is packed with a nutrient called tryptophan. Tryptophan is one of 20 naturally occurring amino acids—the building blocks of proteins. Because the body is unable to manufacture tryptophan on its own, it must be obtained from food protein.

---

Yes