Why is a black light called a black light?

Because it produces light at an ultraviolet frequency that your eyes can't detect. Some materials convert that light to a lower frequency that you can see, which is why those materials glow in a black light.

---

Black light is called black because ultraviolet light is invisible to the human eye. If a black light only emitted ultraviolet light, it would be invisible. Most black lights appear blue or violet because they emit short wavelength visible light (blue to violet).