Where did the expression break a leg come from?

According to theatercrafts.com, superstition against wishing an actor Good Luck! has led to the adoption of this phrase instead. A popular origin is from the 1865 assassination of Abraham Lincoln. John Wilkes Booth leapt to the stage of Ford's Theater, breaking his leg in the process.