What was bridge gate?

The Fort Lee Lane Closure Scandal, also known as Bridgegate, was a political scandal in 2013, in which the governor of New Jersey, Chris Christy, was accused of intentionally closing lanes to the George Washington Bridge to cause traffic problems for people he felt did not support him politically.