What's the rarest animal ever?

As of a 2019 estimate, the Hainan Gibbon, is one of the rarest animals. They are going extinct because roughly 95% of their natural habitat has been destroyed. They now occupy a point 77 square foot section of a nature reserve in China. They were once found across China. Only about 28 remain.