How are marshmallows made?

19th century, marshmallows were made by mixing mallow root sap, egg whites and sugar into a fluffy mold. ... Mallow root sap has been replaced by gelatin. Corn syrup, starch, sugar and water are mixed with the gelatin. The fluffy mixture is piped through long tubes and then cut into equal pieces.