What is the mathematical definition of congruent?

Congruent refers to geometric shapes that are identical in shape and size. The shapes may be in different locations, or facing different ways, but if they were able to be put on top of or within each other, they would be exactly the same. An example is a triangle with an exact mirror image of itself