What is rare for a steak?

What is rare for a steak? Rare (125°-130°F) A steak cooked to “rare” is very different than a “raw”. The chef will season the steak and place it on the grill. The steak will become brown on the outside, but still remain very soft on the inside. The center will still be cool to the tongue.