What was the first year for the academy awards?

The first Academy Awards presented by the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in 1929 at a private dinner hosted by Douglas Fairbanks at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.

---

The first Academy Awards presentation was held on May 16, 1929, at a private dinner function at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel with an audience of about 270 people