Is alcohol a depressant or a stimulant?

Although classified as a depressant, the amount of alcohol consumed determines the type of effect. Most people drink for the stimulant effect, such as a beer or glass of wine taken to loosen up but if a person consumes more than the body can handle, they then experience alcohol's depressant effect.

---

Initially, alcohol does have some stimulant affects, after which it tends to slow down your central nervous system, acting then as more of a depressant.