Are pecans and walnuts related?

Walnuts and pecans are certainly related, both belong to the botanical family, Juglandaceae; and to the sub-family, Juglandoideae; and even to the 'tribe' Juglandeae. But beyond that they are categorised into different sub-tribes, pecans being Caryinae; and walnuts being Juglandinae.