Is twenty three grams of sugar a lot?

Depends on what you mean by a lot. On one hand, it's much less than the sugar in a 12 ounce can of Coke, which has thirty nine grams. on the other hand, it's about the same as two servings of sugar frosted flakes, which have 24 grams sugar, total.