How long do you supposed to cook a turkey?

Bake an unstuffed turkey for 15 minutes per pound. Test the internal temperature, measured at the thigh, ready at 165 F. Note for a large turkey, you need to cover the breast with aluminum foil halfway through to prevent drying out breast meat.