What happens when i burp?

As you eat or drink, you swallow a little air. In your stomach, the gases separate from the food and press against the lower esophageal sphincter, which holds the top of the stomach closed. The pressure forces the sphincter open and the air comes out, vibrating the sphincter and oesophagus wall.