What's a pole tax?

A "pole tax" would be a consumption tax imposed by the government, on the sale or transfer of poles. You may have meant "poll tax": p,o,l,l. This is a tax levied on every adult, without reference to income or resources, that is often tied to the right to vote. This kind of tax is illegal in the US.