Who is monte irvin?

Monte Irvin was an American baseball player who played with the Newark Eagles, New York Giants, and Chicago Cubs during the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s. He was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1973 and passed away from natural causes on January 11, 2016 at the age of 96.