How tall is a standing polar bear?

A large male polar bear may grow to nearly 10 feet tall, standing on its hind legs; however, a record male shot in 1960 in Alaska weighed 2,210 pounds and stood 12 feet tall. The petite females stand only up to about 8 feet tall and tip the scales at a svelte 550 pounds or less.