What types of metal are magnetic?

Only iron, steel and ferrous metals are magnetic. Aluminum, silver, gold, tin, magnesium, titanium and other similar metals are not magnetic.

---

The three elemental metals that are naturally magnetic are iron, cobalt, and nickel. Compounds and alloys can also be magnetic if they contain iron, cobalt, or nickel, such as steel and stainless steel.