What happens if a dog's nose is dry?

Dogs have wet noses because some of their tear glands empty into their noses. Just because the nose is dry does not mean there is something wrong with the tear gland. If your dog's dry nose is not inflamed or infected, he should be fine, especially if he is eating and playing normally