What's the history of the menorah?

The original menorah dates to 164 B.C.E., when a band of Jews defeated its Syrian oppressors in a hard-fought battle. As the Jews reclaimed their temple and lit its golden candelabrum, their only supply of oil, which should have run out after one day, miraculously lasted for eight.