When were l. o. l.'s invented?

The pre-Internet version of the acronym meant “lots of love” or “lots of luck.” The online use of LOL might date back as far as the early '80s in Calgary, Canada, when then-student Wayne Pearson coined the term with friends on Viewline, a bulletin board system that was a sort of rudimentary chatroom