How fast is the sound barrier in miles per hour?

The speed of sound in air at 68 degrees Fahrenheit is 768 miles per hour. The speed of sound in air depends on temperature, so at higher altitudes where air is colder, sound moves more slowly. For example, at an altitude of 30,000 feet, the speed of sound is about 678 miles per hour.