What is blue thunder?

It is a movie. In it Frank Murphy, a courageous & honorable LA police officer is chosen to test run Blue Thunder, a high-tech experimental attack helicopter. While flying Blue Thunder, Murphy & his partner discover that the government intends to use it for corrupt crowd control & surveillance.