What does the x. n. x. ray stand for?

X-ray is short for X-radiation. It refers to the type of radiation that has the ability to pass through many materials that absorb visible light. The word "x-ray" was coined by German physicist Wilhelm Roentgen in 1895. He called it "X" because it was previously unidentified.