When did sars happen?

Per CDC, the first SARS case was reported in Guangdong Province, China, in November 2002. The patient was treated at a hospital, but died soon after, with no definite diagnosis on his cause of death. Chinese officials didn't inform the World Health Organization of the outbreak until February 2003.

---

It was first discovered in Asia in February 2003.