What kind of beef is wagyu beef?

a Japanese beef cattle breed – derive from native Asian cattle. 'WAGYU' refers to all Japanese beef cattle, where 'Wa' means Japanese and 'gyu' means cow. Wagyu were originally draft animals used in agriculture, and were selected for their physical endurance.