How long do you cook a baked potato?

Bake an average size russet potato for 90 minutes, or until it feels soft to the touch, at 350 degrees in the oven. Be sure to wash the potato first with cold water and pierce the potato with a fork in two or three places so it can release steam as it cooks.

---

The average potato needs 90 minutes at 325 degrees F. or 60 minutes at 400 degrees F.