What is the etymology of strawberry?

The word "strawberry" is from Old English strēawberġe, corresponding to straw +‎ berry. The word for straw was derived from a verbal participle and thus meant "(that which is) strewn", hence the applicability to berries growing as if they have been “strewn” about the ground.