How long has the lion king been on broadway?

The Lion King premiered on Broadway at the New Amsterdam Theater on October 15, 1997 in previews, with the official opening on November 13, 1997. On June 13, 2006, the Lion King moved to the Minskoff Theatre. It is the third longest-running show in Broadway's history.