How long can turtles stander water?

Staying underwater depends on the turtle species, habitat and temperature. Painted turtles and other temperate ones hibernate under water without breathing at the surface all winter long. One Australian species hardly ever surfaces. Breath-holding underwater activities are usually 5 min to 1 hr.

---

30 minutes