What do halibut eat?

Young halibut (1 to 3 years old) feed on small shrimp-like crustaceans and small fish. Larger halibut eat other fish, such as herring, sand lance, capelin, smelt, pollock, sablefish, cod, and rockfish. They also consume octopus, crabs, and clams.