What is bikini atoll?

Bikini Atoll is a coral reef in the Marshall Islands consisting of 23 islands around a central lagoon. The United States detonated 23 nuclear devices between 1946 and 1958 at seven test sites on reef, inside the atoll, in the air, and underwater. Its name was later used for women's swim wear.