How is cotton harvested?

Cotton grows in pods on a bush similar to Milk Weed. When ripe the pods split open revealing a wad of cotton fibers. A picker cuts off the bush then mechanically separates these wads of cotton fibers from the plant. The cotton is saved in a bit while the bush is ground up and returned to the field.