What does it mean to have a fast metabolism?

Metabolism (or metabolic rate) is the rate at which a body burns calories. It has a genetic component and it is a matter of debate how much you can change it. With fast (or high) metabolism, you will burn more calories at rest and during activity, and need more calories to maintain your weight.