Is the movie arrow nots based on a true story?

Yes, it is. The Aeronauts is a 2019 biographical adventure film directed by Tom Harper and written by Jack Thorne, from a story co-written by Thorne and Harper. The film is based on Falling Upwards: How We Took to the Air by Richard Holmes.