Who discovered costa rica?

Christopher Columbus is credited with discovering Costa Rica in 1502 and gave Costa Rica its name which actually means “rich coast” because he believed the land to be filled with precious metals.

---

Christopher Columbus reached Costa Rica on his 4th voyage to the Americas on September 18, 1502.