How fast is the giant house spider?

With speeds clocked at 1.73 ft per second (0.53 meters per second; 1.18 mph; 1.90 kmph), the giant house spider held the Guinness Book of World Records top spider speed until 1987 when it was displaced by solifugids, although the latter are not true spiders.