What is a litmus lozenge?

A littmus lozenge is actually a fictional candy mentioned in the book, "Because of Winn-Dixie." It tastes like root beer, strawberries, and sorrow. Littmus Lozenges represent the idea that it’s impossible to separate happiness and sadness from each other.