When do you water an orchid?

This depends on the species of orchid and how it is potted. The most common household orchid, the phalaenopsis, if planted in bark or moss likes to dry out between waterings but likes the pot soaked at each watering. You can submerge the pot in room temperature water for 15 minutes.