What is corn hash?

The term "hash" comes from the French word "hacher," which means "to chop." Hash is choppd or diced meat, potatoes and spices. Corned beef gets its name from the "corns" of salt it is treated with, so corned hash is chopped corned beef with potatoes and spices.