Why do cats need on blankets?

Cats knead on a blanket as a habit from when they were kittens. Or to Relax themselves to destress or prepare to sleep...building a bed and marking their spot with sweat from glands in their paws.

---

They do not NEED them. However, Felines have scent glands in their paws. This means that they can claim the blanket as their 'territory' by kneading it. Also, kittens knead their mother's nipples to release milk. If your cat is sucking on the blanket while kneading, it's a comforting behavior.