What is a felony crime?

A felony is a violation of the state’s penal code laws. These include crimes of homicide, rape, robbery, burglary, embezzlement, and many other serious crimes. A felony trial is one that can have a long term imprisonment in the state penitentiary; or in some states, the death penalty.