Are rolled oats the same as steel cut oats?

These oats cook differently. Steel cut oats absorb less liquid while cooking, Rolled oats absorb liquid more readily; and, therefore, have a mushier texture and a less nutty flavor than Steel cut oats. Generally, they cannot be substituted without changing the amount of liquid and the oat amount.