What is a controlled vowel?

An r-controlled vowel is any vowel followed by an r. The r changes the sound that vowel makes. R controlled vowels are often called “Bossy R” because the r takes over and makes the vowel make a new sound. The er, ir, and ur all make the same sound /er/ as in her, bird, and fur.