What is the chemical composition of soapstone?

Soapstone is primarily talc, with a few added mineral elements. Talc is a naturally occurring mineral, composed of magnesium, silicon, oxygen, and hydrogen. Chemically, talc is a hydrous magnesium silicate with a chemical formula of Mg3Si4O10(OH)2.