What's the biggest squid ever?

Colossal squid live up to their name: the largest one ever recorded by scientists was almost 43 feet (13 meters) long, and may have weighed nearly a ton.

---

The colossal squid is incredibly large with a weight of at least 1,090 pounds and a length estimated between 30-33 feet. Colossal squids are shorter than giant squids but are heavier and have larger eyes measuring 12-16 inches in diameter.