Is yoshi a dinosaur?

Yoshi is not a dinosaur, but simply a Yoshi! When not encountering enemies, Yoshi loves to eat fruit. Yoshi has a long tongue that can be used to eat almost anything! Yoshi can also beat enemies by producing eggs and throwing them in their direction.